Visit our website by clicking on our logo!

Friday, July 30, 2010

Chipola Theatre Earns “Superior” for 2009-10 Season

The Chipola College Board of Trustees along with college president Dr. Gene Prough recently recognized Theatre Director Charles Sirmon and the award-winning theatre program.

Chipola started this season off with “The Musical Comedy Murders of 1940,” directed by Charles Sirmon. Florida Community College Activities Association adjudication response states, “This was a complex show with broad physical humor. Farce, though primary meant as entertainment, because of its physical demands, is one of the most difficult types of plays to direct from a blocking and picturization standpoint. Mr. Sirmon did a superior job with this difficult production.” Rodney Whatley of PCC wrote, “It was an evening filled with laughter and joy and amazement. I was truly amazed at the comedic talent of some of the actors. The entire company was amazing and truly entertaining.”

Chipola actors receiving special recognition were Aven Pitts, Ben Grande and Sarah Lovins. Guest artist Chris Manasco also was recognized for comedic choreography.

Chipola’s spring musical hit, “Bye Bye Birdie,” also earned top honors under the direction of Sirmon. Ken McCulough, Professor of Theatre at Florida State College, said “Sirmon kept the story clear in his blocking which used every inch of the stage as well as the aisles for entrances/exits.”

Choreographer Chris Manasco, also was recognized by adjudicators, who wrote, “The choreography for this show was outstanding and Manasco is obviously, an incredible teacher.” Conductor Daniel Powell with guest pianist Christine Lauen created excellent work and Sound Designer, Brenton Jones and musical Director Angie White. McCulough says “Overall, a strong polished production that played to an appreciative and packed audience. Even more impressive, this occurred in a part of the country and in time that needs the arts to not only to survive but also to thrive in order to become an essential part of the local society. Experiences like this will ensure that happens.”

Chipola actors receiving special recognition were Austin Pettis, Aven Pitts, Ben Grande, Cameron Hitchcock, Emily Harrison, Kayla Todd, Kyndall Covington and Sarah Lovins, along with Designer/Technician Brenton Jones.

For more information about Chipola theatre

No comments: